Skip to content

The TotalEnergies Women's Africa Cup of Nations, Morocco 2022 ended on July 23th 2022 after an unprecedented final that crowned South Africa for the first time.

A long-awaited 14th edition

Due to the pandemic, the 2020 edition could not take place. It was therefore 4 years that the fans were waiting to support their national selections on the occasion of this competition.

For this fourteenth edition, for the first time, the 12 best women's teams on the continent competed: Morocco, Uganda, Zambia, Burundi, Botswana, Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo, Cameroon and South Africa.


And for this celebration of women's football, the players offered a magnificent show with no less than 63 goals scored.

After 3 weeks of competition, it was finally South Africa that was crowned. This is the 1st title for this team after 5 lost finals. Morocco, finalist and Zambia, 3rd, completed the podium.




Key figures


Year of the first edition


Number of matches played on the occasion of the TotalEnergies Women’s AFCON, Morocco 2022


Number of goals scored in this edition


This is the 1st title won by South Africa


Football Together jerseys with written cheers on it offered to the TotalEnergies Woman of the Match or to the TotalEnergies Woman of the Competition