Skip to content

The Total Women Africa Cup of Nations is an international women’s football championship put on by the Confederation of African Football every two years. The tournament was first held in 1991, when it was played at home sites across Africa, with no host nation. Initially, it was known as the African Women’s Championship, but was renamed the Total Women Africa Cup of Nations in 2015. It also functions as a qualifying tournament for the FIFA Women’s World Cup, with the top three teams advancing to represent Africa in the global competition.

2018’s tournament was hosted by Ghana, for the first time, with matches taking place in both Accra and Cape Coast. Nigeria defeated Cameroon in a penalty shoot-out in one semi-final, and met South Africa in the final, after that nation beat Mali 2-0 in their semi-final. Nigeria—who were defending back-to-back titles won in 2016 and 2014—defeated South Africa 2-0 for a record 11th championship. Cameroon defeated Mali in the third-place match to join Nigeria and South Africa in qualifying for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

No team has come close to matching the success Nigeria has enjoyed at the Total Women Africa Cup of Nations. Nigeria has won the event every time it has been held except 2008 and 2012. With a total of 52 match victories, Nigeria also has more than twice the wins of the next-most-successful country at the tournament—South Africa, with 21 match wins.

The only other nation to win the Total Women Africa Cup of Nations is Equatorial Guinea, who took home the gold medal in 2008 and 2012, beating South Africa in both of those finals. Equatorial Guinea’s success exemplifies the benefits of home field advantage; the country was also the host of the tournament on both occasions.


Successful nations
11 titles
Equatorial Guinea
2 titles


Key figures for
the Total Women Africa cup of nations 2018








Goals scored



Title for Nigeria